Accuracy and 'Getting Into the Zone'

Discuss your favourite dowsing tools and techniques here.
Coote

Accuracy and 'Getting Into the Zone'

Post by Coote »

Forgive me if this has been properly covered elsewhere, but I've searched the archives a bit and haven't come up with totally satisfying answers. I did come across a lot of other interesting stuff though.

I am new to dowsing. My current focus in this wide field is locating physical objects. I think it is good to start with these because it is easier for me to verify my results and note my progress.

I've been getting my wife to hide small objects in the house. We have limited the hiding places so that it isn't overwhelming. I've had some very pleasing results. I've noticed, though, that while I can triumphantly lift the rug and say: "I've found it", the object may well be a couple of feet or so away from where I was getting a response. So I had the correct general direction, but my precision has been lacking.

My theory for this imprecision is that once I get a good directional response from a distance, I may be inclined to 'jump to conclusions' and maybe fix my gaze on the spot where I think the object is..... and then my rod or pendulum responds to my point of focus rather than to my initial request.

In other words, I believe it is my rational thinking that is causing the inaccuracy.

Please comment on this, and please also offer suggestions as to how I can achieve and maintain the right state of mind for the best dowsing results.

Thanks in advance.... Coote.
simonwheeler
Copper Supporter
Copper Supporter
Proficient
Proficient

Re: Accuracy and 'Getting Into the Zone'

Post by simonwheeler »

Coote: my rod or pendulum responds to my point of focus rather than to my initial request.
Perhaps the key is the word "focus". I know you intended it as meaning what you were looking at, but if we take it as meaning "concentration", then your focus should be your initial request!