Finding potable water in my garden

for matters relating to dowsing for water supplies including wells, boreholes, heat pumps and other services.
Satyr
Novice
Novice

Finding potable water in my garden

Post by Satyr »

My husband and I are thinking of having a borehole in our garden due to the water shortages here. As I am still new to dowing, we are going to get a professional to indicate where to have this borehole, but before he does that, I would like to try and pinpoint any water myself so I can see if my results agree with the professionals.

So, to that end, could you please advise me in detail what I need to be doing? What questions do I need to ask my source to acertain if there is potable water in suffiecient quatities/volume/whatever to make a borehole feasible (& depth etc).

Thanks in advance.
Practice random acts of kindness
Grahame
Site Admin
Site Admin
Proficient
Proficient

Re: Finding potable water in my garden

Post by Grahame »

Hi Satyr;

I'm not a professional water dowser, so hopefully someone else might chip in here; but the procedure is basically as follows -
  • 1. Establish the quantity of water you are likely to need, and calculate this in whatever units you are comfortable with, e.g. gallons/hour, litres/minute.
    2. Set your initial dowsing intent to find that quantity of potable water, flowing all year round. Also decide on a depth range, e.g. "less than 100 feet", "between 100 and 200 feet" and so on. This will be determined by local geology, surface pollution by agricultural chemicals, cost of drilling etc.
    3. Dowse to find an underground stream fitting these parameters.
    4. Find another stream crossing this and mark that point - a crossing point will maximise your chances of getting a good supply.
    5. Establish depth of these streams, either using a technique like Bishop's Rule, or by counting with your pendulum.