Aswan red granite and Preseli bluestone

Ask a dowsing question, tell us your gossip, chat etc. here!
ReSwoD

Aswan red granite and Preseli bluestone

Post by ReSwoD »

in a very wet Spring, I’ve had time to develop my basic dowsing skills. Basically I'm a novice! The books of Abbe Mermet and Tom Lethbridge have been instrumental in introducing me to new areas of practical skills. For decades, I’ve brought back rocks and pebbles from my travels. The bad weather provided an opportunity to use a combination of some of the two author’s practices to examine, indoors, a collection of red granite rock samples from Egypt, Scotland, and Finland. Those are the locations I remember; meanwhile other samples have been added to the collection and their origins lost in the mists of memory.

Both authors show similarities of approach, particularly in determining the rate length and using the number of oscillations, ellipses and rotations to determine quantities for any specific ‘target’. In dowsing the red granite fragments, I chose to use the following practices from the two authors to find out possible distinguishing properties between them.

For consistency with Lethbridge’s practice, I made a 40-inch pendulum. The rate is measured from the finger and thumb to the top of the bob. The second part of the rate is arrived at by counting rotations before the pendulum bob comes to rest. Both authors find the rate by gradually increasing the chain or cord length until the pendulum responds. Lethbridge continues to extend the length until the pendulum comes to rest, then comes back to the point of greatest rotation.